Hendrix named TCL Co-Freshman of the Year

Austin Hendrix

Bryan/College Station, TX – October 26, 2018 – Having claimed the regular season crown by posting the best record during the 2018 Texas Collegiate League season at 34-20, the Brazos Valley Bombers received postseason recognition by collecting one TCL award and four All-TCL Team honors. The Victoria Generals, 2018 TCL Champions, also received four All-TCL Team honors which tied with Brazos Valley for the most in the TCL.

Austin Hendrix, a first-year TCL player, was named Co-Freshman of the Year along with Acadiana catcher Rhett McCall. Enrolled at Texas A&M, Hendrix went 4-2 on the summer with a 2.55 ERA and 61 strikeouts over 49.1 innings pitched in 10 appearances and eight starts. His strong summer also landed him a starting pitcher spot on the All-TCL Team.

Relief pitcher Ben Butler, a UT-Rio Grande Valley product, joined Hendrix as the only other Brazos Valley hurler on the All-TCL Team. Butler had a dominating summer by allowing just one earned run and one extra-base hit (seven total), while notching 27 strikeouts through 18.0 innings pitched over 16 games.

Out of Lamar University, third baseman Robin Adames was named to the All-TCL Team after hitting .298 (48-for-161) across 42 games on the year. Adames also provided 27 RBIs and 23 runs scored with 10 doubles, 4 home runs and 13 stolen bases while being a mainstay in the middle of the Bombers’ record-breaking lineup.

Shortstop Christian Sepulveda allowed the Bombers to sweep the All-TCL honors when it came to the left side of the infield. In 48 games, the Galveston Junior College product delivered 23 extra-base hits with 12 doubles, 2 triples and 9 home runs. His home run total not only led the TCL but set a new Bombers record for a single season. Sepulveda also drove in 33 runs, scored 30 runs and stole 13 bases during the summer.

2018 TCL Award Winners

Player of the Year: Thomas Jeffries, Victoria
Pitcher of the Year: Matthew Beck, Acadiana
Freshman of the Year: Austin Hendrix, Brazos Valley & Rhett McCall, Acadiana (Co-winners)
Coach of the Year: Michael Oros, Victoria

2018 All-TCL Team

C: Rhett McCall, Acadiana
1B: Thomas Jeffries, Victoria
2B: Dylan Ditzenberger, Texarkana
3B: Robin Adames, Brazos Valley
SS: Christian Sepulveda, Brazos Valley
OF: Michael Williams, Victoria
OF: Cam Hill, Texarkan
OF: Kyle Bayles, Acadiana
DH: Ben Rowden, Texas
SP: Matthew Beck, Acadiana
SP: Austin Hendrix, Brazos Valley
SP: Pedro Garcia, Victoria
Relief: Ben Butler, Brazos Valley
Relief: Garrett Alexander, Victoria

For tickets and information on how to see the Bombers 2019 season, please call (979) 779-PLAY, or go to To follow all upcoming news and developments for the Brazos Valley Bombers, follow or like us on, and follow us on Twitter: @BV_Bombers and Instagram: bvbombersbaseball.

# # #